Nominations solicited for the 2016 Molecular Ecology Prize

Fred Allendorf, recipient of the 2015 Molecular Ecology Prize and chair of the Molecular Ecology Prize Selection Committee, requests nominations for the 2016 Molecular Ecology Prize. See details below for how to nominate an accomplished scientist working in evolution, ecology, or a related field using the tools of population genetics and genomics.

I am soliciting nominations for the annual Molecular Ecology Prize.

The field of molecular ecology is a young and inherently interdisciplinary research area. As a consequence, research in molecular ecology is not currently represented by a single scientific society. Likewise, there is no body that actively promotes the discipline or recognizes its pioneers. To help fill this void, the editorial board of the journal Molecular Ecology created the Molecular Ecology Prize to recognize significant contributions to this area of research.

The prize will go to an outstanding scientist who has made significant contributions to Molecular Ecology. Presumably these contributions would mostly be scientific, but the door is open for other kinds of contributions that were crucial to the development of the field. Previous winners are: Godfrey Hewitt, John Avise, Pierre Taberlet, Harry Smith, Terry Burke, Josephine Pemberton, Deborah Charlesworth, Craig Moritz, Laurent Excoffier, Johanna Schmitt, and Fred Allendorf.

Please send your nominations with a short supporting statement (no more than 150 words) by 15 May 2016 directly to me (

Thanks on behalf of the Molecular Ecology Prize Selection Committee. We look forward to hearing from you.

Fred Allendorf

About Jeremy Yoder

Jeremy Yoder is an Assistant Professor of Biology at California State University, Northridge. He also blogs at Denim and Tweed, and tweets under the handle @jbyoder.
This entry was posted in community, Molecular Ecology, the journal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.